RSS

Childish

06 Jun

A motorbike speeds in the distance,
it’s 1am and my thoughts are of you.

Wind blows chimes and my cigarette
as I stand by the window.

I belong here tonight.

A minor crime, a minor slip,
it’s nothing compared to the promise I still keep.

Cars find their way home,
neighbours sleep,
and I stand vigil once more.

Pages of letters,
confessions,
feelings,
words I wrote and emotions I felt.

The cold air keeps me awake,
and I lean on the frame as this town says goodnight.

Do I belong?

Questions I ask myself.

Am I still a child,
despite all my efforts?

(c) 2008

 
23 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Childish

  1. Cindy Eksuzian

    June 6, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Your words evoke the quiet stillness that surrounds in the dark, and a sense of matter of fact, yet deep at the same time. Very intriguing poetry!

     
  2. Jingle

    June 7, 2011 at 12:18 am

    Agree with Cindy,

    skillful write.
    Happy Rally. :)

     
  3. Astrid

    June 7, 2011 at 9:57 am

    This is a beautiful poem. Thank you for writing it. And thanks for visiting my blog. I will come back to yours often.

     
  4. Jyoti

    June 7, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Beautiful…

     
  5. frayedges

    June 7, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I really like this. It is a bit melancholy and I can visualize the scene at night by the window.

     
  6. Ravenblack

    June 7, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Beautifully written. Loved these lines:

    “The cold air keeps me awake,
    and I lean on the frame as this town says goodnight.”

    A very clear picture of the mood of your poem.

     
  7. mindlovemisery

    June 7, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    I love the imagery sounds like rebellion

     
  8. whimsyrighthere

    June 7, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Maybe being a child is just the human experience. I wonder where we got the idea that at a certain age we would feel differently?

     
  9. 15homegreenhome

    June 8, 2011 at 12:31 am

    love your poem :) – melancholy and visual – love the line “Wind blows chimes and my cigarette
    as I stand by the window.”

     
  10. Leonargo

    June 8, 2011 at 3:58 am

    Beautiful piece… Perhaps we are all still children :)

     
  11. mkinchlow

    June 9, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Wow!!!!!

     
  12. Mr.memo

    June 9, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    nice one….

     
  13. Tally

    June 10, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Love the last two lines, great poem.

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

