RSS

Self-Analysis pt.1 – The Pessimist and the Negative

15 Jun

Our aspirations are wrapped up in books

Introspection was something I used to be comfortable with, as was a fine bit of navel-gazing. After all, when you’ve been on your own for years, without many friends and a distant family, it’s natural to look inside yourself and ask questions. Now I’ve grown up a little, left my teens and entered my late-twenties, I suddenly find myself unhappy with the concept of self-analysis. Firstly, analysis naturally makes me pessimistic; it’s difficult not to be when so much has gone wrong in such a small space of time. Secondly, it makes me more vulnerable to judgement and criticism, and I’ve never been able to take them well.

Spending time reading blogs on similar subjects to my own also pushes me towards the negative. I hesitate to use the word trigger, as I’m not sure if depression can truly be triggered, but it’s as close as I can get to explaining it. It’s the reason why I’ve always shied away from group therapy and why I became much more unwell when admitted to a psychiatric unit. Too much time spent hearing or reading about depression and mental health in general seems to send me into an uncontrollable downward spiral; just as reading about anorexia will cause me to starve, or how discussing self-harm will leave me eyeing-up knives and blades, regardless of how I actually feel. Still, I can’t help reading, and I have to ask myself; do I enjoy being negative?

Years ago, I remember telling a friend’s brother (who was given to solitude) that I agreed with the Manic Street Preachers lyric “I’m happy being sad”. It’s true that I felt far more comfortable wrapped up in depressive thoughts and isolation than I did partaking in ‘normal life’.  As a self-absorbed, melancholy child given to anxiety and self-imposed isolation, I surrendered quite happily (if that’s the right word) to depression, allowing it to take me over and create my personality. I wrote poetry whilst depressed, I lost weight, I became a nicer person.

Nowadays, I’m not so comfortable with it. In fact, I’ve grown to fear depressive episodes, sparking off anxiety and panic attacks at the thought of weeks spent hiding under the duvet. Growing up played a natural part in that, I think; as I’ve grown older, I’ve realised I can’t rely entirely on myself to survive and that I need friends and family around me. I still struggle with friendship. In many ways I’m still the repressed, naive teenager I used to be, but with more insight and experience.

I also know that I can’t expect to hold a relationship together if I’m constantly spiralling into a negative viewpoint, and that I need to force optimism if I’m to deal with the feelings of panic and fear of abandonment.

So no, I don’t enjoy being pessimistic. I want to leave that side of me behind.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2011 in Every day life, The Past

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Self-Analysis pt.1 – The Pessimist and the Negative

  1. jeneli

    June 15, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Do I detect a sneaky Belle & Sebastian reference in this post? Also I am cringing at the memory of my manics inspired teenage self, eek.

    Also I think I understand what you mean about spending too much time reading about depression and mental health. Last year I spent a lot of time reading MI blogs, and also spent a lot of time detailing every little flunctuation of my own moods, and I’m not sure it was really healthy for me. Having some time away has been quite good – although my google reader built up a horrible backlog of posts.

    And yet at the same time it can be very beneficial and I did get a lot out of it–and still do. I guess there are times it’s just best to step away, maybe?

    Hope this isn’t too rambly.

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      June 15, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      Not rambly at all, and well spotted on the B&S reference. I often cringe at my Manics inspired self, but truth be told, I still like to wallow in a bit of James Dean Bradfield’s lyrics now and again.

      I agree, something it’s best to just step away, but sometimes it’s almost too easy to let myself become immersed in the world of depression and MI blogs, it’s almost a comfort to know I’m not alone and that others experience the same things. I think I’m reaching a crossroads in my MI journey – I don’t want to ignore it entirely because a lot of it is relevant to me and does help, but I need to learn to back off if I feel the familiar triggers coming on.

      Take care.

       
  2. The Wandering Mind

    July 18, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    You can do it. Believe & execute.

     
  3. business in austin texas

    February 20, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    I’ve been surfing on-line more than three hours as of late,
    but I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It’s lovely worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all website owners
    and bloggers made just right content material as you
    probably did, the internet shall be a lot more useful
    than ever before.

     
  4. progressive lenses

    March 4, 2014 at 8:56 am

    Aw, this was a very nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to produce a really good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a lot
    and never seem to get nearly anything done.

     
  5. Fernando

    April 10, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    Hi to every single one, it’s truly a good for
    me to go to see this website, it consists of priceless Information.

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

