RSS

1:38am

06 Jul

I couldn’t sleep tonight.

My body willing,
but my mind refusing to rest.

My greatest enemy was always myself,
and, right now,
I don’t feel safe.

1.38am,
my pillows feel too warm
and I can’t shake the anger,
I can’t let this lie.

I write words to keep me from the corner,
I refuse to go back there.

Tonight, I feel weak.

Twice, I consider calling you,
twice, I wonder if the promise was ever that important,
twice, I pace the floor,
avoiding my outlet.

I should have outgrown this.

I should know the abuse is no friend of mine.

… at 1.38am, does that really matter?

I hold my head in my hands,
talk to myself,
act that little bit crazy.

I can’t sleep tonight,
bitter taste in my mouth and too many memories.

I trace my scars in the dark,
reminding myself why I can’t go there again.

I was always my worst enemy -
denial just doesn’t work anymore.

I left the light on tonight

… nothing else works anymore.

(c)  2008.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “1:38am

  1. Jingle

    July 6, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    awesome capture of dark moments,
    smiles.
    way to go.

    Happy Potluck!

     
  2. mindlovemisery

    July 6, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Intense writing you’ve really captured the torment and the anxiety. Brilliant

     
  3. Astrid

    July 7, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    Wonderful. You know Sarah Kanes 4.48 Psychosis, right? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4.48_Psychosis

     
  4. Cindy Eksuzian

    July 29, 2011 at 2:56 am

    Gosh, there is one line in this poem that blows me away and that is, “I left the light on tonight.” This creates such a big open window to the reader of a turning in your content! It fills me with the sense that there is a way out! Great poem!

    Sometimes the unconscious things we do tell us everything we need to know.

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      August 8, 2011 at 2:57 am

      Thanks for commenting. It’s interesting how you read it; I saw it as a negative. Being unable to sleep without the light on was, I suppose, a way of saying I didn’t want to ever be alone. However, looking at it from your perspective it could well be positive. Thanks for that viewpoint.

       

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

