THC

Tiny, moving lights in the sky,
and a static light inside my heart,
you held me against the car door
last night.

Arms wrapped defensively around my body,
your breath soft on my neck,
as we spoke stereotypically of parallel worlds,
in which we never met.

Your hands in my coat pockets,
I watched my breath form clouds as I spoke
of my world.

You said, ‘there’s a poem here’.

Our eyes bright with chemical highs,
we kissed under the moving stars
and you told me of other worlds,
and of the reality, where we lived happily ever after.

(c) 2008

52 Comments

    • Always a fantasy… yes, I see what you mean.

      It was written about my ex-fiancĂ©, who was cheating on me at the time. I was aware of it, and allowed it under the misguided hope he would come back to me. He didn’t; he got her pregnant and they now have two children.

      The parallel worlds where we lived happily ever after… I knew at the time it could never, ever happen. It was too damaged.

  1. Pingback: Kreativ Blogger Award, versatile blogger award, and more « Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars

Send me love.

