RSS

Llandudno Beach

24 Oct

You stroked your hands across my back
As I remembered pebbles on the beach
How your mouth tasted of salt and sea
How for a moment, it was just you and me.

Stones beneath our feet that day
Words carried away on the wind
We could see right to the edge of the sky
Hand in hand, you and I.

You held me close as tears fell
But you felt so far away
Taste of the ocean in my eyes,
You tasted every tear I cried.

A memory of crashing waves
I still hear the seagulls cry
I look at you now with fear on my face
Wanting only to be back in that place.

And now pebbles shift beneath our feet
Sinking sand keeps us miles apart
I reach to you but you turn away
As though nothing happened betweeen us that day.

On the beach where pebbles grow
Where the waves whisper our names
On that beach, on that day
I loved you in every possible way.

I love you now as I loved you then
And though the pebbles have worn smooth
Eroded by our years together
Pebbles, like beaches, can still last forever.

(c) 2008.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Llandudno Beach

  1. Morning

    October 24, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    I love you now as I loved you then
    And though the pebbles have worn smooth
    Eroded by our years together
    Pebbles, like beaches, can still last forever.

    perfect summary of your sentiments here, well done.

     
  2. robin

    October 24, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    i can so relate to you.. “How for a moment, it was just you and me.” beautiful words

     
  3. heyloworld

    October 24, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Pebbles ,like beaches can last forever.
    –A perfect ending to a perfect poem if there ever ws one.I like the theme of being separated from the rest of the world and being together with the other person yet alone.
    Very very nice,though it’s a sad poem.
    I love it.Thanks. :-)

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      October 24, 2011 at 11:48 pm

      Thank you. Llandudno beach was a place which was special to my ex fiance and I (or I thought it was important to him, perhaps not in hindsight), and when the relationship was ending, I often thought of how different things were back then.

       
      • heyloworld

        October 25, 2011 at 8:10 am

        Thank you!
        i wrote a reply to your comment…but it seems it didnt get posted.Hate it when that happens.

         
  4. andypandylive

    October 24, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    Very beautiful.

     
  5. lukewater

    October 24, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Lovely poem…kick ass ending
    I really enjoyed the reoccurring pebble image
    : )
    lukewater

     
  6. Anthony F. Rando

    October 25, 2011 at 2:20 am

    Very beautifully done!

     
  7. William Leed

    October 25, 2011 at 2:31 am

    Enjoyed your poem. The power of nature can be felt in our lives in many ways!! Nice job.
    William

     
  8. belfastdavid

    October 25, 2011 at 11:28 am

    such a sad poem.

    I haven’t been on LLandudno beach for a long time, but there are other beaches I go to just to throw pebbles into the sea and to remember

    David

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      October 25, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      I think beaches inspire a sort of remembering. I don’t know if it’s the empty sea in the distance or the isolation of winter beaches, but they do have a certain something.

       
  9. Jared A Muscat

    October 25, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    Dig the simple words and simple patter, nothing lost, lots found, lots to be discovered…could read many a time through.

     
  10. dreamingthruthetwilight

    October 25, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    I think most of us seem to agree on the best part of this poem..that last stanza was really nice..perfectly describes the smoothening out , the softening of the rough edges and the resultant beauty of a lasting bond.

     
  11. kiehano

    November 14, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    This was absolutely beautiful. Very stirring and graceful. Loved every word of it!

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      November 15, 2011 at 1:56 am

      Thank you very much; it’s nice to know people are reading my older posts :) And in reply to your other comment… that damn sea always seems to get in the way.

       

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

