RSS

10 Day You Challenge – three films.

26 Oct

1. Pan’s Labyrinth.

In 1944 fascist Spain, a girl, fascinated with fairy-tales, is sent along with her pregnant mother to live with her new stepfather, a ruthless captain of the Spanish army. During the night, she meets a fairy who takes her to an old faun in the center of the labyrinth. He tells her she’s a princess, but must prove her royalty by surviving three gruesome tasks. If she fails, she will never prove herself to be the the true princess and will never see her real father, the king, again.

I love everything about this film; the music, the scenes, the CGI and the story. It wasn’t at all what I expected it to be; it was brutal and charming, all at the same time.

2. Alien

The crew of the deep space mining ship Nostromo are awaken from hypersleep to investigate a strange signal from a nearby planet. While investigating the signal, they discover it was intended as a warning, and not an SOS.

Alien appeals to my love of asthetic horror. Gieger is an artist I have a lot of respect for, and to see his work in ‘real life’ (as it were) in a film was wonderful for me.

3. The Lost Boys.

A mother and her two sons move to a small coast town in California. The town is plagued by bikers and some mysterious deaths. The younger boy makes friends with two other boys who claim to be vampire hunters while the older boy is drawn into the gang of bikers by a beautiful girl. The older boy starts sleeping days and staying out all night while the younger boy starts getting into trouble because of his friends’ obsession.

Much love for this film. I adore the soundtrack, and even did an essay on it in college.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2011 in 10 Day You Challenge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “10 Day You Challenge – three films.

  1. aschatria

    October 27, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I have watched everything from Alien series.

    But as you said above, “Pan’s Labyrinth”, I never watched that.

    Thank you for suggestion, I will see if I can find it somewhere online; judging by the picture it may be engrossing.

     
  2. halfwaybetweenthegutter

    October 28, 2011 at 11:55 am

    You should be able to find it online; it’s been out for few years now.

    I’ve seen all the Alien films, including AVP’s. I only really like the first three though – I do have a special place in my heart for the ‘baby’ in Resurrection, it was a brilliant design.

     
  3. aschatria

    October 28, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    I watched “emerging” scene twenty times- I really freaked out on that; yucky.

    Underwater scenes are state of art, you really get to see how movable those creatures can be. :)

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

