RSS

Perfect Poet Award – Windowpane

26 Oct

I don’t want to spend another night at my window,
I should have outgrown this, now everything’s changed,
but I can’t shake this feeling, I can’t find the proof,
that everything’s not still
just
the
same.

Empty pill packets to force me to sleep,
an image of you, the last thing I see,
an image of me, once again in the corner,
I see you, but do you
ever
see
me?

The moon sits alone in velvet sky.
voices of neighbours who never knew my name,
I stand here waiting, waiting for you,
the clock reaches midnight,
I’m
by
the
windowpane.

(c) 2008

Thank you very much for the award; it’s very, very appreciated. I nominate Charles L Mashburn / Marbles In My Pocket.

http://promisingpoetsparkinglot.blogspot.com/

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Perfect Poet Award – Windowpane

  1. heyloworld

    October 26, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Your poem is brilliant,especially the last few lines of every para,which are endearing.But I like your poem more because of its ability to show me a sense of ‘world apart’.It makes me see a world,that I could perhaps have never seen myself,since the nature of perception dictates so.Thanks for that. :-)

     
  2. belfastdavid

    October 26, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I am not surprised that this poem won an award.

    It is so beautifully constructed and captures the emotion so powerfully. Particularly in those last four lines.

    David

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

