RSS

A Thousand Questions

08 Nov

I sat alone tonight.

Silence.

Incense burning.

For the first time,
I can’t stand the music,
they sing words which fit
too well.

I want to confess but the words won’t flow,
and it fills me with fear to lay myself so bare.

I was alone tonight.

Still feeling pressure where your fingers
touched me.

Your taste
on my lips.

Your smell
on my skin.

I want to admit, but it makes me afraid,
it’s all so unpredictable and you’re in control.

I will sleep alone tonight.

Holding tight to memories.

Reading your messages.

Holding on.

I need to speak, but fear keeps me silent,
I want to find a table and lay my cards down for you.

Tonight, I will be alone.

Lulled by tiny blue pills
and imagining your arms holding me, like before.

I want to ask
a thousand questions.

And I’m afraid
of the answers.

(c) 2008.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “A Thousand Questions

  1. jagring

    November 8, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    Don’t quite know why but this piece really appealed to me. It all seems too familiar yet, yet different. Loved it, for all its worth..!!

     
  2. carolina

    November 8, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    I love the resounding quality of the piece and the pic…may i borrow it?

     
  3. ivory627

    November 8, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    You’re not alone

    Good to “meet” you; how’d you happen upon my blog? :)

     
  4. Hannah

    November 8, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    Another brilliant post – so touching X

     
  5. Stephanie

    November 8, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    I really like the almost tired pace of this poem and its straight-forward words. Nice work. Its almost disquieting which is interesting.

     
  6. weareliterarycritics

    November 8, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    This poem was captivating. There always seems to be beauty in melancholy words. I love the expression. Thank you for sharing your thoughts/poem.

     
  7. nicole

    November 9, 2011 at 3:04 am

    i wish that i could resonate with this, but i cannot because i have never loved a human being like you apparently have. and i am, luckily, comforted by my dog. she sleeps beside me, snoring like a man. :) i hope that you can find the comfort that you seek. x

     
  8. Aspergirl Maybe

    November 9, 2011 at 3:52 am

    Beautiful poem.

     
  9. relampo

    November 9, 2011 at 4:10 am

    Don’t be afraid of answers, tha agonies of uncertainties are a thousand times worse than a bad answer.

     
  10. belfastdavid

    November 9, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    What a wonderful poem.
    Painful yet beautifully expressed and one that will surely resonate with us all

    David

     
  11. BigFieldy

    November 10, 2011 at 12:09 am

    I know exactly how you feel. Beautifully worded. :)

     
  12. I'm love addicted

    November 10, 2011 at 1:14 am

    Beautiful post! I wish I had written it.

     
  13. aloneagain3

    November 10, 2011 at 3:53 am

    I very much relate to this piece. I am so very much not in controll of my own situation. I don’t want to be hurt anymore, but I don’t want to let go of my husband and our 29 year marriage. I am unable to make him understand the way I feel. I know what logic says I should do, but love, emotion and commitment won’t let me. I can only pray that all will be what it should be sooner than later.

     
  14. Nefarious X

    November 10, 2011 at 11:56 am

    I loved the urgency of the poem. I especially liked the final two stanzas of the poem. Well done.

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

