RSS

Childish

17 Nov

A motorbike speeds in the distance,
it’s 1am and my thoughts are of you.

Wind blows chimes and my cigarette
as I stand by the window.

I belong here tonight.

A minor crime, a minor slip,
it’s nothing compared to the promise I still keep.

Cars find their way home,
neighbours sleep,
and I stand vigil once more.

Pages of letters,
confessions,
feelings,
words I wrote and emotions I felt.

The cold air keeps me awake,
and I lean on the frame as this town says goodnight.

Do I belong?

Questions I ask myself.

Am I still a child,
despite all my efforts?

(c) 2008

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Childish

  1. nicole

    November 17, 2011 at 4:36 am

    this entry’s photograph reminds me of carrie bradshaw, sitting in her apartment window, thinking of mr. big. x

     
  2. Ina

    November 17, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Growing up mentally is hard, getting mature even harder. But if you can write poems like this, you are certainly wise :)

     
  3. charlesmashburn

    November 17, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Wonderful writing! Great picture, too. You brought it to life with your words.

    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/like-a-pearl-set-in-gold/

     
  4. Pingback: Foodime.com
  5. thingy

    November 17, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Fabulous piece. I think we all ask if we belong, at times. : )

     
  6. Morning

    November 17, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    lovely argument,

    keep it up.
    :)

     
  7. ZQ

    November 18, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Vigilant picture, expressed in perceptive vigilant words. very nice.

     
  8. poetsandandall

    November 19, 2011 at 7:18 am

    amazing post. Thank you for sharing this with us
    http://poetsandall.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/our-safe-zone/

     
  9. disjointedrhymings

    November 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Beautiful write and a great choice of image to go with it

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

