Perfect Poet Award, Week 57/Picket Fences

Picket Fences

Your eyes were picket fences
A darker green than I remembered
We revisited that old story
Of what you did last December

A stone stuck in my throat
I’ve known puddles deeper than my words
I wondered if you could still hear them
I wondered if you even cared

Your arms, like a vice around me
But how could I ever cross that line?
Still, I held on to you, I needed you
I still wanted you to be mine

Your eyes were the tallest fences
You built up an invisible wall
And I didn’t know if I could break it down
Or if you wanted me, after all

I couldn’t speak for thinking too much
Your hands were fire on my skin
I know we all make mistakes, my dear
I know that we all sin

I forgave those picket fences
I let you cross your own line
I loved you then, as I love you now
I love you, I need you, we’re fine.

(c) 2007

Thank you very much for the award! I nominate Craig Watson.

5 Comments

Send me love.

