RSS

Epiphany

13 Dec

Conservatory lights
illuminating as I exhale
cigarette smoke from a mouth full of words
I will never speak.
Something so easy,
an answer so simple,
eighteen nights since I last stood at the window.

The night sky is clear,
and everything’s changed.

The corner sits empty,
bottles untouched,
poems unwritten,
tears I refused to cry.

Cold air bites my skin,
tiny lights in the sky look down on someone entirely different,
and I smile.
I close the window.

… I don’t need it anymore.

(c) 2008.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Epiphany

  1. Morning

    December 13, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    powerful imagery..

    wow.

    Happy Poetry Picnic.

     
  2. John Evans

    December 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    Very nicely written, always hoping to encourage you with your creative genius…you are good.

     
  3. Daniel O. Casey

    December 13, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Powerful stuff. Truly. I am moved in reading this, my own resolve bolstered by the words elegantly strewn by your pen.

    Always a pleasure to read your posts. See you around.
    Dan.

     
  4. LifeInVerse

    December 13, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Truly moving. It’s hard to recover after reading something that beautiful

     
  5. Life: Between the lines

    December 14, 2011 at 12:46 am

    feels like an awakening, the crutch be gone!!! :)
    thrilling flow!
    happy gooseberry day!

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/a-dream-and-a-whisper/

     
  6. Emilino Emloile

    December 14, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Wow, this is full of emotion.
    I love your writing — it’s very raw and honest, often brutally. Every time I read one of your posts, I feel like I can see the world through your eyes. Like I get to see everything from another perspective.
    Thank you very much.

     
  7. Jenzy

    December 14, 2011 at 1:50 am

    As usual, honest and full of emotion, but written so beautifully ~ x

     
  8. charlesmashburn

    December 14, 2011 at 4:42 pm

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

