RSS

Like Last Summer

18 Dec

Late July, last Summer
My shoes were going out of fashion
Living was easy, life was good for us
There was none of this -

Those hospital visits;
Crowded corridors, stale waiting rooms
Sleeping with the light
still on.

Summer turned to winter
And I stopped speaking to you
My mouth filled with empty, harmless words
Not quite lies, not quite truth
I couldn’t explain the nightmares.

I sat on benches
On crowded streets
Never feeling more alone,
never less complete.
The seasons carried on
and it seemed strangely unfair
I thought perhaps the world might
stop for us, for what we’d lost.

Still, life went on
Nothing changed,
Night still followed day
Life carried on making life
that cycle I could never be part of
That act I broke my heart over
That emptiness,
They just can’t understand.

Christmas, when I started
losing my hair
I lost all my faith
Still, I couldn’t tell you.

And now,
I no longer own my body
I didn’t ask for this
For this loss of control.

Those crowded corridors,
I walk them blindfolded now
Learning, at 21
That doctors don’t care
when they casually mention
those words.

Still a taboo -
as though it makes me less of a person.

I cut my hair
I told you, showed you
You didn’t seem surprised that I
was falling apart.

Late July, last Summer
We had no idea,

Last summer
…Before I went out of fashion.

(c) 2006.

 

 
36 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2011 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

36 responses to “Like Last Summer

  1. byhisgrace211

    December 18, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    Beautiful— you are from the inside out! God Bless You today ! :-)

     
  2. judithatwood

    December 19, 2011 at 12:44 am

    This is the saddest and loveliest poem I’ve ever heard — your gift is amazing, and I treasure you for sharing it in my life.

     
  3. meanderlight

    December 19, 2011 at 2:50 am

    Beautifully dark

     
  4. Kellie Elmore

    December 19, 2011 at 4:04 am

    love the nostalgia! beautiful pen! the fourth stanza is my fave, your imagery is awesome!

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/keys-ethree/

     
  5. Aurora, HSP

    December 19, 2011 at 4:37 am

    Bittersweet beauty poem, you do such good work :) Big hugs.

     
  6. Mr.memo

    December 19, 2011 at 6:11 am

    nice writing buddy, i enjoy reading your blog..

     
  7. lexiconlover

    December 19, 2011 at 7:52 am

    your words both haunt me and move me, for they remind me of me……so very much~

     
  8. Kay Salady

    December 19, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Tremendous writing

     
  9. charlesmashburn

    December 19, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    This is a fabulous write! The emotions in it draw the reader in. Excellent!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/this-christmas/

     
  10. Becky

    December 19, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    This is hauntingly beautiful. I’m absorbing it still… very powerful. Well done expression my friend.

     
  11. विमल

    December 19, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    the picture is apt

     
  12. missredefine

    December 19, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Lovely. Simply lovely.

     
  13. tigerbrite

    December 19, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    So sad. Beautifully done.

     
  14. ladymccutcheon

    December 20, 2011 at 12:02 am

    Beautifully written, thank you for writing this. My family is going through a similar situation right now and it’s not easy. I always also think “Living was easy, life was good for us”

     
  15. ryoko861

    December 20, 2011 at 12:46 am

    That says so much from deep within. Bittersweet.

     
  16. ~L

    December 21, 2011 at 2:24 am

    lovely and love love the picture at the end!

     
  17. ~L

    December 21, 2011 at 11:08 am

    “corridors” …. My favorite word.

    What a sad poem…. A heart-felt piece that shows great passion and emotion…. It’s beautiful!

     
  18. Anna Gramme (@hypercryptical)

    December 22, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Sad yet beautiful. Thank you.

    Anna :o]

     
  19. onesurvivor

    December 28, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    Very poignant.

     
  20. strawberryjamntoast

    December 29, 2011 at 7:42 am

    What a tender poem, I will be haunted by it in the days to come. Looking forward to reading more of them.

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

