RSS

Skinny Versus Curvy: Why Women Can Never Win

02 Feb

halfwaybetweenT:

Found this post whilst reading through blogs this morning, trying to distract myself from eating a mountain of toast. It’s a subject I think about a lot, and the author has managed to put it across far better than I could. I suggest that any woman struggling with body image and/or eating disorders gives it a read.

Originally posted on wordsbymary:

Ladies: it’s time to put down those sparkly shoes and pick up your shields, for the battle of the body types rages on and you’ve simply got to choose a size, sorry, side. No, no – no dithering. You’re either one or the other and before you starting rambling on about ‘healthy body image’ just shut it. ‘Healthy body image’ doesn’t whip up a media frenzy the way ‘skinny versus curvy’ does, so you can park that notion, thank you very much.

Discover a Lovelier You (Woman Alive, 1972)

What’s it going to be, women folk: the skinny tribe of supermodels and disordered eaters or the curvy tribe of so-called normal women and celebrities who can’t hack diet pills anymore? Hey – why the long faces at my ridiculous over-simplification of female body types? Are you seriously suggesting that women’s bodies cannot be categorized as one of two things? Of course you are… and you are…

View original 649 more words

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2012 in Every day life

 

12 responses to “Skinny Versus Curvy: Why Women Can Never Win

  1. snacksandwrites

    February 2, 2012 at 8:12 am

    I’ve decided to respond, with deference, by simply eliminating 3/5 ths of your words and adding none of my own. (I did change some punctuation and capitalization, and for that, and only that, I apologize)

    Put down those shields, the battle rages on and you’ve got to choose a size.

    Dithering? You’re rambling about image. Just shut up!

    Frenzy curvy park notion.

    Thank you very much.

     
  2. snacksandwrites

    February 2, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Again… I hope you’re smiling!

    If not, know that I am… but I’m also listening to Marina & the Diamonds.

     
    • missmarymcgill

      February 2, 2012 at 9:42 am

      Passive aggressive trolling will get you everywhere in life – keep it up! You’ve certainly made me smile, although not in the way you might have hoped. Have a great day.

       
      • snacksandwrites

        February 2, 2012 at 9:54 am

        Understood.

        I’ve spent the last 30 minutes trying to find a good version of ‘The Naked And Famous’s,’ “Passive me, Aggressive you.”

        Find it. You WILL LIKE IT….. and you’ll get it.

         
      • snacksandwrites

        February 2, 2012 at 10:03 am

        Frenzy curvy park notion.

        You must name your 3rd or 4th novel that.

         
  3. missmarymcgill

    February 2, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Hey there,

    thanks so much for the reblog and for reading. Women of all sizes get such a raw deal and it is wonderful to get feedback from like-minded ladies. Rock on! Mx

     
    • snacksandwrites

      February 2, 2012 at 9:41 am

      I just now decided that unless men can start using the term, “like minded men,” then women have to stop using the term, “like minded women.”

      Okay?

       
  4. headfullofrainbowsAmber

    February 2, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    It saddens me to see stories like this. Its hard enough to try and keep up with “whats in” with body images. I would like every one to be healthy and most of all happy. Dont believe the hype. Just be the best person you can be. And theirs more then skinny and curvy. If you are skinny to large and anywhere in between, just be yourself.

     
  5. LiesHurtMySanity

    February 2, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Reblogged this on Lies Hurt my Sanity and commented:
    Every woman has body issues. No matter how much weight I lose, I will always be curvy. I know, I’ve been a size 8 and a size 22. At the moment, I’m just trying to be healthy and listen to my body. It seems to know what size it likes best.

     
  6. snacksandwrites

    February 2, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    Size Whys? Trust me…. honest earners don’t care.

    And I cook.

     
  7. judithatwood

    February 2, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Reblogged this on Diabetic Redemption and commented:
    This analysis, by Mary McGill of the Huffington Post, I am reblogging from http://halfwaybetweenthegutter.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/skinny-versus-curvy-why-women-can-never-win/. Thanks for bringing this to my attention, love. Readers can find a link to Halfway Between… in my blogroll, on the Home page.

     
  8. bloohmoon

    February 2, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    Be happy being you. I ain’t feeding into that stupid magazine bull shit. I look the way I want to. I’ll be the size I am and if people have a problem with it, what they gonna do. Talk? The question would be are you happy with your size/shape? Me, I got more important shit to worry about like bills, baby, house, car, whisky, my health etc. Great post Halfway but I think that vs. shit is silly. Be you.

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

