Tell Me About Yourself award

Fibromodem has nominated me for this award; thank you! If you’re dealing with fibromyalgia or know someone who is, I can recommend her blog for a candid insight into living with chronic pain.

Nice easy rules; seven things about you, a thank-you, and seven nominations of blogs you feel deserve the award. Actually, the rule is “seven things others may find interesting” but I don’t have enough confidence to assume if anything is interesting *gets out tiny violin*. So, just seven… things. About me.

1. One thing which is guaranteed to get on my nerves is when somebody says “of” instead of (ha) have. I don’t know why it annoys me so much, and I know it’s only a small thing, but it really winds me up and I have to go for a little calm down after hearing/reading it.

2. Same with comic sans. Sorry if anybody’s a fan, but I can’t cope with that font. Really, really can’t cope. It enrages me – as does Papyrus and Lucinda Handwriting – and I often go on anti-comic sans rants. It doesn’t even deserve a capital letter, it’s that hateful.

I don't even want to look at this picture.

3. S and I have an incredibly naff relationship in-joke, revolving around quotes from Jurassic Park. If he’s playing a game, I sit behind shouting “shoooooot her!” and he often quips “I’ll show you” or “what species is this?” in the middle of conversations.

4. If my right eyebrow isn’t drawn on properly (I have naturally very pale, sparse eyebrows), the whole day is ruined.

5. Another hate is people singing lyrics incorrectly, or misquoting a film. Again, it’s such a small thing but I get so irritated by it. Once is fine, twice is being forgetful… getting lyrics wrong when you’ve known the song for twenty years is downright inconsiderate.

6. After years of wearing make-up, I’m still not quite sure how to apply blusher properly.

7. I used to write poetry in the back of my school books. Ones I’d written myself, or things such as The Raven by Poe. I don’t know why I did it; I wasn’t fussed about knowing my teacher would read them, but I didn’t particularly want to share the more private poetry with the world. I wasn’t looking for any attention, or to look clever. I just… did it. One day I was called to her desk after class, and she asked me if I wanted to speak to anybody about any problems I may be having. I said no.

The following blogs are all ones I follow, for different reasons. All worthy of an award, and all interesting people.

 

31 Comments

  1. Gratz. You deserve this award for sharing your life with us. Chronic pain is something I wouldn’t wish on any one but it controls my life. Makes me angry sometimes because I have to keep rescheduling everything around “how I feel at the moment”.

  2. Congratz on the award! :) And you’re definitely not the only one who hates Comic Sans. I’m personally indifferent, but I’ve come across a lot of people who hate it. Supposedly there’s a group trying to eliminate it altogether.

  3. I am a huge huge fan of yours and your the reason I love read blogs. I don’t have BPD but I do have depression and anxiety. I look forward to your words and what you think all the time. It’s nice to have a community that understands about mental malfunctions. :D

  4. Congratulations. Having been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia years ago, I know it isn’t easy. Every day is a balance for me, will I do this because if I do, I wouldn’t be able to do that or I can’t do anything because today is just a bad pain day.

  5. Pingback: Tell Me About Yourself Award « mrscmonkey

Send me love.

