RSS

Strawberries

03 Apr

Maybe next time
I won’t forget to open my eyes
when you kiss me.
And maybe next time
I won’t laugh while we’re
making love.

Maybe next time
I’ll be the first to say
“I love you”.
And maybe next time
I’ll think before
I open my mouth.

Maybe next time
I won’t start an argument
for arguing’s sake.
And maybe next time
I won’t hit quite as hard
or even stop and think why I’m hurting you.

Maybe next time
I’ll forget about myself for once
and ask “how’s your day been?”.
And maybe
I’ll remember
If you like
strawberries.

(c) 2002.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , ,

23 responses to “Strawberries

  1. Daniel O. Casey

    April 3, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Aww, girl. Priceless. I can feel the power of this one. If only. . . but that’s another story. This is good. Thanks. Dan.

     
  2. mbwilliams

    April 3, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    All improvement starts with seeing what you’ve done wrong – there’s nothing at all wrong with this heartfelt poem, great stuff!

     
  3. Becky

    April 3, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Yes…. this is great. But don’t stay in the past, in the “what ifs”, in the memories of do-overs. You’re so strong my friend.

     
  4. lexiconlover

    April 4, 2012 at 12:52 am

    This was such a beautiful poem!!!

    I don’t think I’ve ever opened my eyes when I’ve been kissed.
    maybe I will try that sometime.
    so many nice suggestions came out of reading this.
    I need to try harder to be a “better” me~

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      April 4, 2012 at 3:10 am

      I sometimes open my eyes when S kisses me; we look at each other, and it’s really nice.

      You seem to be doing well.

       
  5. ryoko861

    April 4, 2012 at 1:19 am

    Change the “maybe’s” to “definitely”. I can relate to some of those.

    Nothing wrong with laughing while having sex! You’re suppose to be having fun!! Right?

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      April 4, 2012 at 1:48 am

      You’d think so! My ex (who the poem is about) hated it. He was an idiot though.

       
  6. Swirling Turnip

    April 4, 2012 at 1:53 am

    This was…moving, powerful. Thank you

     
  7. judithatwood

    April 4, 2012 at 2:45 am

    Wow!

     
  8. slackergenius

    April 4, 2012 at 2:48 am

    Innocuous lake, unfathomable depth. You have a conveyance at your right hand that so many writers froth and sweat to obtain. Again, beautiful.

     
  9. zen and the art of borderline maintenance

    April 4, 2012 at 4:58 am

    Halfway, that is ALL THE WAY – just beautiful. WOW! That brought tears to my eyes.

     
  10. NZ Cate

    April 4, 2012 at 7:53 am

    That’s amazing! Thanks for sharing it. :-)

     
  11. stilltooyoungtofail

    April 4, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Reblogged this on .

     
  12. justjacqui2

    April 5, 2012 at 4:28 am

    Absolutely lovely! Would love to reblog with your permission….

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

