RSS

Epiphany

04 Apr

Conservatory lights
illuminating as I exhale
cigarette smoke from a mouth full of words
I will never speak.
Something so easy,
an answer so simple,
eighteen nights since I last stood at the window.

The night sky is clear,
and everything’s changed.

The corner sits empty,
bottles untouched,
poems unwritten,
tears I refused to cry.

Cold air bites my skin,
tiny lights in the sky look down on someone entirely different,
and I smile.
I close the window.

… I don’t need it anymore.

 
42 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

42 responses to “Epiphany

  1. zen and the art of borderline maintenance

    April 4, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Hey you, this is FANTASTIC. Your talent blows me away my dear. Impressive and just beautiful. Love the picture you chose to go with it. This poem made me smile because I could feel it. “cold air bites my skin” ~ what lines you write!

     
  2. poetryroad

    April 4, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Vivid and real. Great poem.

     
  3. 1stjoeyanna

    April 4, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    Beautiful!

     
  4. brokenpenwriter

    April 4, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    Loved the flow of your thoughts in this… loved how you pulled the reader right down into your thoughts and looking at the stars, seeing the big picture and making the decision: you can do this.
    Nice work, halfway!!

     
  5. judithatwood

    April 4, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    Love, sweetheart! This poem is sad, and beautiful in equal measure; I love it, and I might even recognize you as the author!

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      April 5, 2012 at 12:01 am

      Heh. I’ve never thought of my poems being recognisable… has to be a good thing, right? Love to you, Judith!

       
      • judithatwood

        April 5, 2012 at 2:42 am

        It most certainly is — you have a very straightforward, honest style, while still keeping some of the mystery. I do enjoy it, very much. 8-)

         
  6. free penny press

    April 4, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    Nicely done.. honest poetry makes the best poetry..
    I have a poetry zine.. let me know if you ever would like to submit some words
    -lynne-

     
  7. Ink. [Anette]

    April 4, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    Beautiful. Really beautiful.

     
  8. Wyoming Diva

    April 5, 2012 at 1:54 am

    Very thoughtful – thank you for sharing!

     
  9. ryoko861

    April 5, 2012 at 4:34 am

    Wow, that’s profound! I can understand that completely!

     
  10. Words Asunder

    April 5, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    Epiphanies… amazing moments… well captured here. Nice. :)

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      April 6, 2012 at 1:23 am

      Thanks for taking the time to read, Words Asunder :) ‘Asunder’ is one of my favourite words, incidentally.

       
  11. Amanda

    April 6, 2012 at 2:45 am

    “…cigarette smoke from a mouth full of words I will never speak.” <3

     
  12. willowdot21

    April 6, 2012 at 6:18 am

    That is so sad lonely and lost but it has a strong ending. Keep your spirits up

     
  13. Cerridwen

    April 6, 2012 at 10:11 am

    A moment of clarity and catharsis in a life altered irrevocably by some event or incident involving another – a timeless trope. Here’s my offering this week: http://caridwen.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/drafting-in-memoriam-adrienne-rich/

     
  14. Hema

    April 6, 2012 at 11:15 am

    Wow…thats bold and beautiful!:-)

     
  15. emanita01

    April 6, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    The corner sits empty,
    bottles untouched,
    poems unwritten,
    tears I refused to cry.

    I REALLY like the imagery of your phrases! Thanks for sharing them :-D

     
  16. elliebloo

    April 6, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    Very lovely. Full of life’s moments.

     
  17. Tally

    April 7, 2012 at 1:52 am

    This has vivid imagery and no small amount of power. One of my favorite poems read so far, you are a wonderful writer, keep it up!

     
  18. dasuntoucha

    April 8, 2012 at 1:26 am

    Visual and precise…nicely done.

     
  19. Sasha Jenna Spears

    April 8, 2012 at 2:58 am

    powerful opening,

    love the message or sentments.

     
  20. Kay Salady

    April 8, 2012 at 3:23 am

    Dang! I have felt this! Wow, what a write!

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

