Short Story Slam Week 24: Life Behind The Corners of Your Smiles

I do have another half-written post lurking in drafts (I’m actually going to publish that one!) but I woke up to an invite from Bluebell Books to take part in the Short Story Slam, and since I decided a while ago to write the short story/poem/haiku in “real time”, I’m going to grab any inspiration I have. Even though I’m still half asleep and haven’t drunk any coffee yet. Eeesh.

 

 

HAIKU FOR MY MOTHER

 

Twenty-seven now,

I hold onto childhood;

it’s all I have left.

 

Your photo album

was never like mine, you see;

no photographs left.

 

No childhood smile,

forever trapped on paper;

she didn’t take them.

 

No need for pictures,

it was all etched in my mind;

how could she have known?

 

My mother and I,

forever at cross purposes;

but I love her still.

 

(c) 2012.

 

6 Comments

Send me love.

