RSS

Attached at the hip – another oldie

25 Oct

Stars hung low in the sky tonight
Suspended by threads less fragile than ours
Street lights flicker and tobacco burns
A single light glowing in the dark.

The moon covered by a cloud
But hung by a rope, stronger than anything we could have made
Skin deep promises count for so little
On these nights by the windowpane.

A burned out joint in the gutter
A feeling of being anything but high.
Standing smaller in the dark than I’ve ever felt
In the dark, beneath the night sky.

The wind chills my fingers as I watch the road
Waiting for cars, but nobody comes
Just flickering night lights to pave my way
An illumination on all that I’ve done.

Lighting the shame, the guilt and the doubt
A spotlight upon my every move
Why can’t they see, this was only about me?
This was never about my feelings for you.

Stars hang low above my head
On threads made of promises, kisses and sighs
Threads hold us together, attached at the hip
Built of deception, coldness, heartbreak and lies.

(c) 2008

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2012 in Every day life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Attached at the hip – another oldie

  1. stuff I said

    October 25, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Another good write, thank you for sharing it. xx

     
  2. buckwheatsrisk

    October 25, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    powerful!

     
  3. faithhopechocolate

    October 26, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    You definitely have a gift for dealing with words.

     
  4. pdlyons

    October 29, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    old gold

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

