RSS

Unspoken

07 Jan

Sitting together and so far apart,
a thousand words unsaid and truths unspoken,
I never felt more alone, more out of place,
as I do tonight,
sitting by your side.

.
A bottle in my hand and a cigarette in yours,
I open my mouth but no words will form,
it all seems so trivial when I feel this broken,
when you’re sitting so close to me,
yet not here at all.

(c)

Writing about 2008 is more difficult than I ever imagined. On one hand, I almost feel uncomfortable writing about my past relationships now that I’ve been with S for eighteen months; I know he probably wouldn’t mind, but it must be weird for him to know I’m writing about my exes. On the other hand, it’s only now that I can see just how low I sunk; I knew I was falling apart but what I didn’t realise is that I’d totally cracked long before it got to this point. I can see that now. It’s difficult to think about. I acted in ways I’m not proud of and damaged my body god knows how much with handfuls of amitriptyline, tramadol, diazepam, co-codamol, small antidepressant overdoses to get me through the night in a dazed drug-fuelled stupor instead of having to deal with the reality of everything in my life going incredibly wrong. 

O and I… we stopped speaking one day. Conversation turned to bitter arguments and shouting matches. Slammed doors and a smashed laptop. Midnight chases down the street; it was always me doing the running. I just couldn’t face any of it. 

I remember sitting on his swivel office chair, gulping from a bottle of cheap peach schnapps and watching him smoke cigarette after cigarette, sitting on his bed and brooding. He threw me out that night. 

Of course, we got back together. We did a lot of getting back together. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 7, 2013 in Every day life, Poetry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Unspoken

  1. Human In Recovery

    January 7, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Sitting together and so far apart,
    a thousand words unsaid and truths unspoken,
    I never felt more alone, more out of place,
    as I do tonight,
    sitting by your side.

    I open my mouth but no words will form,
    it all seems so trivial when I feel this broken,

    Your words a the very thoughts I have on a regular basis. The repetitive on again/off again cycle is all too familiar.

    It is good you are at the point you can write about it and see it for what it was.

    Blessings,
    Kina

     

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

