Brother and Sister

Late last year, Z told me of a friend who was looking for a home for his two cats. Both a year old, brother and sister, one ginger and white, one black and white. S and I had been considering getting a cat for a while but always put it off due to my concern that the physical issues would make caring for them difficult while S is at work all day; I’ve found looking after myself hard and have had to forgo showers and basic self-care at times due to the stiffness and pain.

However, I admit to falling in love. I grew up with cats always in my life and since Molly died of kidney cancer years ago I’ve been reluctant to go through that pain again. I’ve always known that a cat is what’s missing, though. Over the next few days S and I weighed up the pros and cons and came to a decision – that the positives would outweigh the negatives and I had plenty of support if I found caring for them difficult.  We decided to go for it.

A week before Christmas, Stimpy and Magrat came to live with us.

DSCN1089DSCN0703

I am in love; two cats have never been so adored. Aside from a major anxiety freakout when Stimpy went missing for three days, the negatives have never materialised – in fact, caring for them has made a huge difference to both my mental health and my mobility. Agoraphobia is a lot easier to deal with when you have two silly creatures trotting after you, and I no longer feel lonely during the day. Feeding them forces me out of bed and onto my feet, and even on my worse days I have very little choice; which makes a huge difference to how I deal with the hours stretching in front of me.

In such a short space of time, they have turned my world around and shown me that giving up simply isn’t an option. I can no longer lie in bed all day feeling sorry for myself, and that can only ever be a good thing.

9 Comments

  1. Isn’t it amazing what animals can do for us? Sometimes the only thing that keeps me going is my pup, Kizz. They make our lives better and more whole, that’s for sure. And I’m so glad to see you posting again…keep it up!

  2. There’s nothing quite like a cat to put you in your place. I have 2 cats as well, also one ginger and one dark, and they drive me nuts with their entitlement personalities but they’ve helped me keep my depression at bay for thirteen years. Head bops are the best… But not at 3 in the morning :)

  3. Love from coastal Maine, where we were warm enough to open windows,

    Hello, love. Your new kitties are beautiful, and I love that you are adjusting well to there presence.

    I recently spent 12 days in the local “Behavioral Health wing of the hospital. A new and scary diagnosis : anxiety. I am putting together a basic set of skills to help me cope while my pschologist and I dig into causes. Any suggestions?

    Enjoy your new family!

  4. I love your cats! Also, I don’t know if you remember me, but I used to have two blogs called Spelling Hearts and Worthwhile Treasure. Just wanted to let you know I just now created a new blog because I felt like I’ve changed too much to continue using my old ones. You’re one of the only blogs I remember from back then.

Send me love.

