RSS

Pierced portrait

01 Jun

 
42 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Every day life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

42 responses to “Pierced portrait

  1. judithatwood

    June 1, 2012 at 3:23 am

    Love from me, glad to see you! Your have stunning eyes, love — and those lashes! I know women who would sell their souls for eyes like yours! You are beautiful, my friend, and you must be beginning to believe it, because I don’t recall any closeups of your face before. This deserves a celebration — I’m going to pull the shade, put on some music, and dance!

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      June 1, 2012 at 3:07 pm

      Haha, I’m not throwing back your compliment, but it’s a nightmare having long eyelashes! I can’t wear sunglasses without it hurting; I know, first world problem ;) Thank you so much Judith!

       
      • judithatwood

        June 1, 2012 at 4:28 pm

        I never thought about that — I can see how they’d be a big problem. But they are still lovely, as are your eyes themselves. Try not to let mother’s criticism strike too hard — she is trying to keep you close, because if she doesn’t, she’ll feel abandoned for a little while.

         
      • thebirdieflies

        June 1, 2012 at 6:09 pm

        I used to have that problem when I wore specs and I would push them all the way to the top of the bridge of my nose. But I don’t have particularly long lashes (which is why the curved lenses of sunglasses don’t pose a problem at all).

         
        • halfwaybetweenthegutter

          June 5, 2012 at 3:53 am

          I get on much better with expensive sunglasses because the lenses tend to be more curved. I only have cheap ones with almost flat lenses, so that doesn’t help.

           
  2. Skye

    June 1, 2012 at 3:40 am

    Lovely!!

     
  3. thebirdieflies

    June 1, 2012 at 8:20 am

    Your eyes are really beautiful :)

    I’ve always wondered this for people with nose piercings, so I’ll ask you: Doesn’t it get messy when you have a cold? :P

     
    • The Quiet Borderline

      June 1, 2012 at 3:02 pm

      Good point! Doesn’t it get in the way!?

       
      • halfwaybetweenthegutter

        June 1, 2012 at 3:04 pm

        It does! It’s a nightmare; I have two nose rings and a septum ring, and the medusa (upper lip) piercing as a habit of, er, leaking when I have a cold. It’s impossible to blow your nose, I haven’t managed it for years!

         
        • The Quiet Borderline

          June 1, 2012 at 3:20 pm

          Oh, sounds really annoying! LOL. wishing you less colds in the future!

           
        • thebirdieflies

          June 1, 2012 at 6:08 pm

          Maaaan! That must suck. Hope you don’t get colds often.

          A septum ring! If it’s through the cartilage, OUCH. And I guess nose piercings mean you can’t pinch your nose shut ever, right? Though that’s trivial if you can hold your breath without doing that.

          Ohhh lip piercings! More questions: When you brush or rinse your mouth, doesn’t it leak?

           
          • halfwaybetweenthegutter

            June 5, 2012 at 3:53 am

            I get colds all the time :( It’s a nightmare! Sometimes I just take them out if it’s particularly bad.

            The septum isn’t through the cartilage; that’d hurt like nothing else :/ Some people do get it done through it, but it’s not something most piercers will do. I’ve seen a video of a great big bear-like guy having his septum done through the cartilage and he cried like a baby. I’m not surprised!

            I can hold my nostrils shut, because I have rings in. It feels weird though. My lip piercing doesn’t leak, but my upper lip (medusa) does leak sometimes if I’m drinking something hot; the heat loosens the piercing and I end up with tea all down my face. Classy.

             
            • thebirdieflies

              June 5, 2012 at 5:11 am

              Even talking about nose piercings through the cartilage makes me feel pain :P

              Okay, I hadn’t thought of that. How does tea reach your upper lip? Wouldn’t it usually rest in your mouth, behind the teeth and not reach the piercing? :/
              Or are you talking about when you have the tip the cup over?

               
              • halfwaybetweenthegutter

                June 5, 2012 at 1:02 pm

                Haha, the idea of going through cartilage in the middle of my face makes me wince!

                I have no idea how it reaches it. I always thought I drank normally, but maybe I don’t. It just seems to leak out!

                 
  4. ryoko861

    June 1, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Ugh, to eyelashes like yours! Beautiful! Cool pic!

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      June 1, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      Ha, I’ll repeat what I said above; it’s not all it’s cracked up to be! Thank you <3

       
  5. Hawkruh

    June 1, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    I’ve nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award! http://hawkruh1.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/809/

     
  6. My Ox is a Moron

    June 1, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    They say eyes are windows to the soul. With such beautiful eyes you must have a beautiful soul.

     
  7. thepillarsofherearth

    June 1, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    I miss my wife’s nose piercing. She had to take it out when she started working. I always thought it complimented her beauty. She is still beautiful without it though. I also understand the problem with long eyelashes. During the times I was deployed to Iraq in the summer, the sweat would always end up on my lashes, and subsequently the interior portion if my Oakley M-Frame lens. Not cool by temperature and reduced visibility.

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      June 5, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      Oh, I can very much identify with sweat getting in eyelashes; it must have been so frustrating in a situation like that.

       
  8. anotherbattle

    June 2, 2012 at 2:15 am

    I like it! I’d love to get another labret. I miss it.

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      June 5, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      Labrets are lovely piercings, what’s stopping you? ;)

       
      • anotherbattle

        June 5, 2012 at 4:51 pm

        Fear that I could have trouble getting a job because of it. I’m having enough trouble as it is.

         
        • halfwaybetweenthegutter

          June 5, 2012 at 4:57 pm

          Ah yeah… it can make it more difficult. I know if I weren’t on disability, I wouldn’t be able to get away with the piercings I have.

           
  9. The Girl in Yoga Pants

    June 2, 2012 at 3:35 am

    You are very beautiful.

     
  10. lalalemzo

    June 2, 2012 at 11:13 am

    I’ve only started reading your blog. I’m sixteen, and haven’t met anyone who I’ve been able to identify with before. I found your blog, ( I can’t remember how) but as I started reading, I felt like you were describing me. You really are a beautiful woman. I adore your freckles. (:

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      June 5, 2012 at 2:10 pm

      Thank you so much; I do admit to being quite proud of my freckles ;) I hated them as a kid.

      Very nice to meet you luv <3

       
  11. Catherine Burden

    June 2, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    I noticed your lovely eye lashes before the stud which just made me say ‘ouch’.

     
  12. NZ Cate

    June 3, 2012 at 8:09 am

    Hi. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I just nominated you for a Reader Appreciation Award because I love your blog. Check out the rules on my latest post http://infinitesadnessorwhat.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/oops/.
    And congrats again because I really do enjoy your blog. Thanks :-)

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      June 5, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Thank you very much Cate! I think I can feel an extra-long awards post coming on ;)

       
  13. greedy soul

    June 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    You’re beautiful.

     
  14. magicallymad

    June 4, 2012 at 2:21 am

    Lovely portrait – I’m a bit late in informing you, but I nominated you for an award a post or two ago, come grab it at Not Quite Lost if you feel like it. Hugs!

     
  15. whereimstaying

    June 5, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    I’ve always seen them dangly, that’s nice looking!

     
    • halfwaybetweenthegutter

      June 6, 2012 at 11:54 am

      Heh, thanks! I do have a ring in it now; I call it my pig ring :D I love how they look with bars in though.

       

Send me love.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,898 other followers

